Indian Police
Indian Police
Home > Bangalore Traffic Police

Bangalore Traffic Police

The responsibility of enforcing and overseeing traffic safety as well as compliance and the management of traffic flow in the city of Bangalore is looked after by a specialised unit called the Bangalore City Traffic Police (BTP), a part of Bangalore City Police. It is also called as Traffic Police. It is based near the Bangalore Cantonment area at Shivaji Nagar.

3250 personnel including 1845 Police Constables (PCs), 777 Head Constables (HCs), 317 Assistant Sub-Inspectors (SIs), 267 Police Sub-Inspectors (PSIs) and 44 Police Inspectors (PIs) form the full time personnel of BTP as on December 2012. In addition to this, the unit consist of 9 Assistant Commissioner of Polices (ACPs), 2 Deputy Commissioner of Polices (DCPs) and 1 Additional Commissioner of Police (Additional C.P).

Though the Commissioner of Police is in charge of all the force, the Additional Commissioner of Police actually manages the team.


The City Police system traces back its origins to a century back. The traffic wing became functional in 1930. The formation of Traffic Police Wing in Bengaluru is credited to the then Inspector General Hamilton.

2 European Constables, 7 Duffedars, 2 Constables, 12 Writers and 37 duty officers formed the first team, which was based at Alasur Gate Outer Station.

Traffic Helpline Numbers

Toll Free - 103
080 - 22943030 / 3131


Toll Free - 105711
Toll Free - 1062 / 108

Find The Listing Of Police Stations In India

Bookmark and Share
© The content published on the website is owned and copyrighted. The content may published only post prior permissions.